Health Science Research By Dr Mike Broadly
Health Science Research By Dr Mike Broadly
What Can We Learn from the Behaviors of "Queer Organisms" in Nature as Parents?
0:00
-7:29

What Can We Learn from the Behaviors of "Queer Organisms" in Nature as Parents?

Exploring the Lessons from Nature: Embracing Open-Mindedness and Tolerance for Diverse Sexual Choices and Identities Among Loved Ones

Dear Subscribers,

Happy Sunday and greetings from sunny Down Under!

This post is not intended to persuade or seek agreement on human ; rather, it aims to invite you to approach the topic of sexuality with an open mind. By exploring insights derived from the extensive research of esteemed scientists around the world over the decades, we can gain a fresh perspective on this important subject

I have been examining the biology and psychology of sexuality through various lenses within a scientific framework, adhering to established methodologies. Additionally, I have observed the fluidity of sexuality within my own family, among friends, and within my community. 

Each individual experiences, interprets, and practices sexuality uniquely, reflecting the diversity found in all living beings, from humans to animals and plants. There is no singular approach and no black and white answer. It is this diversity that enriches our understanding of sexuality and create a healthier society. 

In this post, I would like to share insights drawn from the remarkable story of

(my long term mentor), which was published last year this time on Medium and NewsBreak. This engaging piece was well-received on Medium.com, known for its diverse, tolerant, and open-minded community. 

Unfortunately, I noticed that the same version of the story on NewsBreak was taken out of context and received criticism from some individuals. Despite these negative remarks, I also observed many heartwarming and inspiring responses from open-minded and compassionate individuals

It is disheartening that some people still perceive homosexuality or bisexuality as diseases that require medical intervention. Such outdated views reflect a mindset reminiscent of darker times. Caring healthcare professionals have demonstrated that these orientations are not illnesses but integral aspects of our identities, deserving of acceptance and understanding.

I have shared a comprehensive comment on the article, which I would like to include in this interactive podcast which I prepared with Google Notebook to illustrate my personal experiences as a proud parent and now a grandparent of multiple health kids living in Australia. I sincerely hope that parents will embrace their children and love them for who they are.

If you are interested in exploring a summary of Dr. Yildiz’s research and links to ground breaking studies he cited, here it is for your review and consideration.

Queer Organisms: Nature’s Lesson for Diversity, Inclusion, and Equality: My first impression of homosexuality in my secondary school years and how I gained a better understanding in my postgraduate years leveraging scientific studies

Like his story, I have also written several articles on sexuality from various perspectives, using accessible language. I would like to share a few of these pieces to provide you with unique insights based on my experiences and reviews of the topic in both scientific and practical contexts

I Answered 7 Difficult Sex Related Questions with Empathy & Compassion

Understanding the Westermarck Effect and Its Impact on the Sexual Health of Children

Global Health Crisis Deepens: Alarming Spike in STIs Overshadows Progress on HIV & Hepatitis

In a world where love and acceptance are essential, it is vital for us as parents to wholeheartedly embrace the diverse identities of our children. Nature beautifully illustrates the significance of variation and adaptability; likewise, we must celebrate the unique paths our loved ones choose.

By cultivating an environment of open-mindedness and compassion, we empower our children to flourish as their authentic selves, fostering a culture of understanding and respect within our communities.

Ultimately, it is our unwavering love that will guide them on their journey, reminding us that every expression of love is worthy of celebration.

Here is video I found in the article linking the TED speech of eminent cardiologist Dr James O’Keefe MD which you can share with you friends. It has already been enjoyed by 4.5 million people globally.

Here’s the personal comment I left on the story last year:

Thank you for reading my story and listening to my podcast. I look forward to your feedback if this topic is an interest to you. I wish you a healthy and long life with your loved ones.

I am a retired healthcare scientist in his mid-70s, and I have several grandkids who keep me going and inspire me to write on this platform. I am also the chief editor of the Health and Science publication on Medium.com. As a giveback activity, I volunteered as an editor for Illumination publications, supporting many new writers. I will be happy to read, publish, and promote your stories. You may connect with me on LinkedIn, Twitter, and Quora, where I share stories I read. You may subscribe to my account to get my stories in your inbox when I post. You can also find my distilled content on Subtack: Health Science Research By Dr Mike Broadly. Lessons Learned from My Personal Stories.

Leave a comment

Share Health Science Research By Dr Mike Broadly


Discussion about this podcast

Health Science Research By Dr Mike Broadly
Health Science Research By Dr Mike Broadly
My personal and professional experience spanning over 6 decades